ZUFMS-REP - Coleção Zoológica de Referência da Universidade Federal de Mato Grosso do Sul - Reptilia

UFMS - Universidade Federal de Mato Grosso do Sul
Instituto de Biociências
Coleção Zoológica ZUFMS/INBIO;
Avenida Costa e Silva s/n, Cidade Universitária, Bairro Universitário
Campo Grande - MS - Brazil

The Coleção Zoológica de Referência da Universidade Federal de Mato Grosso do Sul (ZUFMS), known by the simplified name "Coleção ZUFMS" was installed in the Campus of Campo Grande of UFMS, in 1991, due to a project entitled "Preliminary Survey of the Fauna of Passo do Lontra Region, Pantanal of Miranda / Abobral, MS", developed by a team of researchers from the extinct Biology Department of UFMS. Initially, it was considered only as a reference and regional collection, but nowadays it is a faithful depository of type-materials from several states and countries.
Currently, ZUFMS has specimens from Mato Grosso do Sul and other states of Brazil, as well as Argentina and Paraguay, and covers the Pantanal, Cerrado, Chaco and Mata Atlântica domains. It is represented by fish, amphibians, reptiles, mammals, crustaceans, arachnids, insects and molluscs, totaling about 100.000specimens.
The ZUFMS collection is subdivided in 42 sections (usually grouped by orders or classes, eg ZUFMS-AMP).
The ZUFMS Reptilia collection (ZUFMS-REP) has about 2.500 specimens from 9 brazilian states and Argentina, as well as paratypes. Much of the collection began with the collections held in Mato Grosso do Sul by Prof. Masao Uetanabaro, donation of the Herpetological Collection Prof. Arlindo Figueiredo Béda (CHAFB) and Herpetological Collection of Corumbá (CEUCH). Currently, ZUFMS receives large numbers of projects linked to the following laboratories in Campo Grande: Mapinguari, Herpetology, Animal Parasitology and Corumbá Zoology Laboratory.

Online since: 19/09/2017
Last update: 03/05/2023

Number of records

Total: 3,252
Online: 4,521
Georeferenced: 1,897
(by municipality: 2,532)
With images: 0

Conditions for using the data

Creative Commons: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International (CC BY-NC 4.0)

How to cite

Not specified


Director or head of department:
Albert Schiaveto de Souza
Gustavo Graciolli
Andressa Figueiredo de Oliveira
Francisco de Paula Severo da Costa Neto
Liliana Piatti
Thomaz Ricardo Favreto Sinani